Our 52nd Year

Asli Aydintasbas
Robert Barylski
John Beyrle
Stephen Biegun
Thomas DeFrank
Susan Glickman
Margaret Jay
Jimmy Kolker
Charles Kupchan
David Lampton
Sean McFate
Mohsen Milani
Manjari Chatterjee Miller
Nolan Peterson
Dennis Ross
Yasmin Sayed
Kori Schake
Lee Schneider
Charles Schudson
Thomas Shannon
Charles Shapiro
Suzanne Spaulding
Barbara Stephenson
Jeremi Suri
Aron Troen
Martin Walker


Stephen Biegun

Stephen E. Biegun has more than three decades of international affairs experience in government and the private sector. In 2021 Mr. Biegun concluded his most recent government service as Deputy Secretary of State, to which he was confirmed by the Senate with a strong bipartisan vote of 90-3. Prior to his most recent government service, Mr. Biegun served for 15 years as a corporate vice president with Ford Motor Company.

Mr. Biegun began his career as a foreign policy specialist with the U.S. Congress, with a focus on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and Europe. He rose to a number of senior-level positions including chief of staff of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and national security advisor to Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist. He served two years as executive secretary of the White House National Security Council and as an advisor and deputy to National Security Advisor Condoleezza Rice.

From 1992 to 1994 Mr. Biegun was the Resident Program Director in the Russian Federation for the International Republican Institute. He graduated from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor with a B.A. in Russian language and political science.