Our 52nd Year

Asli Aydintasbas
Robert Barylski
John Beyrle
Stephen Biegun
Thomas DeFrank
Susan Glickman
Margaret Jay
Jimmy Kolker
Charles Kupchan
David Lampton
Sean McFate
Mohsen Milani
Manjari Chatterjee Miller
Nolan Peterson
Dennis Ross
Yasmin Sayed
Kori Schake
Lee Schneider
Charles Schudson
Thomas Shannon
Charles Shapiro
Suzanne Spaulding
Barbara Stephenson
Jeremi Suri
Aron Troen
Martin Walker


Margaret Jay

Baroness Margaret Jay's career has combined government service, the media, and business. She graduated from Oxford University with a degree in Politics, Philosophy and Economics and began a twenty year career in broadcasting.

Baroness Jay was appointed a life peer in July 1992 and acted as an opposition Whip in the House of Lords. She was also appointed as the first director of the National AIDS Trust. Following the Labor Party election victory in 1997, she was appointed to Tony Blair's government first as a Minister of State in the Department of Health and later to the Cabinet as Leader of the House of Lords, Lord Privy Seal and Minister for Women. She played a pivotal role in the major reform that led to the removal of more than 660 hereditary peers (most of its hereditary members) in the House of Lords.

Baroness Jay left government in 2001 and serves on the boards of British Telecom and the Independent News and Media Company. In 2007 she served as co-chair of the Iraq Commission. Since 2011 she has been Chair of the Select Committee on the Constitution in the House of Lords.