Logo silltext
Our 49th Year

James Baker
Robert Barylski
Laurel Bellows
David Dollar
Peter Georgescu
Margaret Jay
David Lampton
Robert Lieber
Mark Lowenthal
Susan MacManus
Jessica McFate
Sean McFate
Mohsen Milani
Terry Root
Dennis Ross
Gary Roughead
YŁksel Sezgin
Thomas Shannon
Hedrick Smith
Kathleen Stephens
Jeremi Suri
Ray Takeyh
Daniel Vara
Martin Walker
Celeste Wallander

Hedrick Smith

Hedrick Smith

Hedrick Smith, Pulitzer Prize-winning former New York Times reporter and Emmy award-winning producer, is one of America's premier journalists. In 26 years with The New York Times, Mr. Smith served in Saigon, Cairo, Paris, the American South, and as bureau chief in Moscow and Washington. In 1971, he was a member of the Pulitzer Prize-winning team for the Pentagon Papers series, and in 1974 he won the Pulitzer Prize for international reporting from Russia and Eastern Europe.

Mr. Smith has produced more than 50 hours of documentaries for PBS -- among them the mini-series "Inside Gorbachev's USSR" and an inside account of the 9/11 terrorist team, "Inside the Terrorist Network." His latest film is "Winning Back Our Democracy," the surprising story of grass roots citizen movements winning political reforms.

Mr. Smith's best-selling books include The Russians, The Power Game: How Washington Works, and Who Stole the American Dream an account of how we have become Two Americas. He now edits the informational website, reclaimtheAmericandream.org and writes op-eds, does broadcasts, and gives lectures on civic movements for political and economic reform in America.

Mr. Smith holds a B.A. from Williams College and did graduate work at Oxford as a Fulbright Scholar.